Call for Participants | Football presidents: towards a typology of political cultures | Webinar (Teams), September 15–16, 2022

This webinar was presented back in April in this Call For Papers. It has since been extended to two days with four round table paper presentations. Everyone is welcome to attend, however, registration is mandatory, by mail to jean-michel.de.waele@ulb.be.

French L1 football club Paris Saint-Germain’s (PSG) President Nasser al-Khelaïfi attends a press conference at the Parc des Princes stadium in Paris, France on July 5, 2022 (Victor Joly/Shutterstock)

Program


September 15th

08:00 Brasilia / 13:00 Brussels

Introduction by Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui and Jean-Michel De Waele

08:15 Brasilia / 13:15 Brussels

Roundtable One: Are Football Presidents Symbols of their Communities?
Chairperson: Jean-Michel De Waele

      • Enrico Castro Montes Presidents of Barcelona SC: Ecuador and Political disputes
      • Tommaso Begotti ‘Il Mago di Campagna’. Paolo Mazza as president of SPAL (1947-1976)
      • João Sedas Nunes Pinto da Costa, a man of many means – football and society under Portugal’ democratic regime
      • Robert Adam The Highway to Hell: The Downfall of Romanian football President

09:45 Brasilia / 14:45 Brussels

Questions and discussions

10:15 Brasilia / 15:15 Brussels

Coffee Break

10:30 Brasilia / 15:30 Brussels

Roundtable Two: Political Careers on Football: Language, Gender, Power
Chairperson: Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui

    • Carmen Rial, Caroline Rocha Women’s Football in contexts marked by prohibitions: the trajectory of football club’s presidents in Brazil and France in the 20th century
    • Kevin Marston A very strong lady… – a biographical sketch of Veronica Chan
    • Livia Magalhaes From La Bombonera to Casa Rosada: the political games of Maurício Macri
    • Jim O’Brien The Rise and Rise of Mauricio Macri: Football, Culture and Presidential Politics in Argentina; 1991- 2019
    • Sergio Varela Hernández A team in poverty is a poor team: Politics, power, money and football according to Hank Rhon
    • Andrea Di Ruzza, Traian Sandu Silvio Berlusconi and George Becali, two club presidents in politics: Soccer and right populism in Italy and Romania

12:00 Brasilia / 17:00 Brussels

Questions and discussions

September 16th

08:00 Brasilia / 13:00 Brussels

Roundtable Three: Football, Politics and Nationalism
Chairperson: Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui

    • Rahul Kumar The perfect model of a populist movement. The rise and fall of a Club President
    • José Paulo Florenzano The revolutionary management of Democracia Corinthiana
    • Piotr Siuda, Radosław Kossakowski, Michał Jasny and Józef Piłsudski Poland Struggling for fans’ approval: exploring clubs’ presidents and fandoms conflict in Poland – a case study of Zawisza Bydgoszcz
    • Daghan Irak All the president’s men: Crony-capitalism and sport presidency in Turkey
    • Xavier Ginesta, Jordi Badia FC Barcelona: Cultural, Political and Sportive legacies of President Josep Suñol i Garriga
    • Sean Jacobs The African Football President: the rise of Patrice Motsepe

09:45 Brasilia / 14:45 Brussels

Questions and discussions

10:15 Brasilia / 15:15 Brussels

Coffee Break

10:30 Brasilia / 15:30 Brussels

Roundtable Four: Commodification and Professionalism – Historical Perspectives
Chairperson: Jean-Michel De Waele

    • Luciano Segreto, Francesco Maccelli Towards an economic and political taxonomy of Italian Football Presidents (1960-2000)
    • Markwart Herzog On the Spirit of Capitalism in Football: Dr. David Rothschild – President of FSV Frankfurt, 1925–28
    • Gregory Quin, André Marche, Gianluca Sorrentino From locally rooted “philanthropists” to more distant business oriented presidents. The changing sociological background of the presidents of the major Swiss football clubs (1980-2020)
    • Christian Brandt ‘I myself am the club’ – Patrons in German lower league football
    • Phillipe Vonnard Between philanthropical and political goals? The profile of the first presidents of the Association Suisse de football (1895-1933)
    • Dries Vanysacker Biographies and memories on Football Presidents: Networks in Football Club Brugeois (1891-2020)

12:00 Brasilia / 17:00 Brussels

Questions and discussions

12:30 Brasilia / 17:30 Brussels

Conclusions by Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui and Jean-Michel De Waele

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.